Official Government Website

IBHC Council Members

Dave Jeppesen

Dave Jeppesen was appointed in January 2019 by Governor Little to be the Director of the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, a cabinet position in the Governor’s administration. He is also a Co-Chair for the Idaho Behavioral Health Council. A native of Burley and Ammon ID, he earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from ISU. He also holds a Masters of Applied Statistics degree from The Ohio State University. After college graduation, he worked at Capital One in Richmond Virginia where he eventually became the Deputy Chief Risk Officer. He then moved to Barclays Bank’s United Kingdom Retail Bank in London as the Chief Marketing Officer. In 2009, the Jeppesen’s moved back to Eagle, Idaho, and David started a successful international bank consulting business. Starting in 2012, he worked at Blue Cross of Idaho where he was the Chief Marketing Officer. Dave is married with four children and three grandchildren.

Sara Omundson

The administrative director of the state courts or a designee.

Dave Jeppesen, director of the Department of Health and Welfare, and Sara Omundson, administrative director of the courts will serve as co-chairs.

Ex Officio
  • The administrative director of the state courts or a designee – Sara Omundson
  • Idaho Department of Corrections director or designee – Josh Tewalt
  • Idaho Department of Health and Welfare director or designee – Dave Jeppesen
  • Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections director or designee – Monty Prow
Members appointed by the Governor

Dr. Eric Studebaker

Dr. Studebaker is currently serving as the Director of Student Engagement and Safety Coordination for the Idaho State Department of Education. This role manages the Idaho Advanced Opportunities Program, Idaho GEAR-UP, Idaho 21st Century Community Learning Centers, 504 Support, Idaho Public Driver Education, Youth Suicide Prevention, Safe and Drug Free Schools, School Bullying Prevention, and College/Career Advising. Dr. Studebaker is a member of the Idaho Council on Suicide Prevention, the Board of the Idaho Office of School Safety and Security, the Idaho Criminal Justice Commission, the Governor’s Task Force on Opioid and Drug Abuse Prevention, and the Idaho Post-Secondary Council of Academic Affairs and Programs. He is also an adjunct faculty and dissertation chair in the Ed Leadership program at Northwest Nazarene University.

Commissioner Brent Mendenhall

Brent Mendenhall currently serves as a County Commissioner and is the Vice Chair of the Madison County Board of Commissioners. He is also on the Eastern Idaho Public Health Board and is a trustee on the Executive Board of the Idaho Association of District Boards of Health. Mr. Mendenhall served on the Madison School District 321 board of trustees for 12 years.

  • One member of the public – Kate Dolan
Members appointed by the Chief Justice

Judge Gene Petty

Judge Gene A. Petty was appointed as a district judge in Idaho’s Third Judicial District by Governor Otter in April 2017 and he was re-elected in 2018. He serves as the presiding judge for the Canyon County Mental Health Court. He was appointed by then-Chief Justice Roger Burdick to serve on the Idaho Behavioral Health Council where he co-chaired the Criminal Justice Workgroup. Prior to serving on the bench, he worked in the Ada County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office for over 13 years. Judge Petty was previously an adjunct professor at Concordia University School of Law. He has served as Chair of the Idaho Academy of Leadership for Lawyers and as Chair of the Idaho State Bar’s Professionalism and Ethics Section. Judge Petty was given the Service Award from the Idaho State Bar in 2018. He received his law degree from Loyola University Chicago School of Law.

  • One member of the public – Dr. David Pate
  • One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House –  Laurie Lickley
  • One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Minority Leader of the House – Brooke Green
  • One Senator appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate – Doug Ricks
  • One Senator appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate – David Nelson
ver: 3.5.1a | last updated: